For the busy person who wants to stay connected to God throughout the week!

Sabbath Moments and Christmas

merry-christmas-4Dear Sabbath Seekers,

This will be my last post until the New Year. 

I am going to take an extended Sabbath to be totally present during Christmas to God, my family and friends.  After a year of practicing Sabbath Moments, I am ready to take it to the max!  It’s been a very busy year and especially the last 3 months.  Whenever I get busy due to circumstances, scheduling glitches, or life, I find I cannot be as fully present with the things and people who matter the most to me.  It’s just the way I’m wired.  That’s why taking Sabbath Moments is a good practice for me to stop and be present at least for a little while.

Now I am ready to extend that to a two-week period. 

Taking time to recoup, to sit quietly with God, to share intimate time with family and friends is a blessing I/we often ignore or refuse to take full advantage of.  Many of us feel we need permission to stop being busy or get sick so we don’t need permission. 

God gave us permission to do this once a week.  He commanded us to do it for 24 hours.  We took this great gift and said, “Thank you very much, but, um…I really can’t accept it.”  I can just see God shaking his head and saying, “Your loss. You really don’t know better than I do.” 

So for Christmas this year, how about we give God a smile and say “Thank you very much for this wonderful gift of Sabbath.  I will use it as if my life depended on it.”  (Which by the way it does.)

And in the midst of celebrating the gift of Emmanuel, the incarnation, you can begin by taking at least a 24 hour block of time to truly put Christ back into Christmas.  (It really has nothing to do with a phrase but action on our part.)

“Bear in mind that the Lord has given you the Sabbath, that is why on the sixth day he gives you bread for two days.  Everyone is to stay where he is on the seventh day; not one is to go out.  So the people rested on the seventh day.’  Exodus 16.29-30

Merry Christmas and Happy Sabbath, 

Nancy

Comments on: "Sabbath Moments and Christmas" (1)

  1. Nob Ichishita said:

    Thank you for your Sabbath Moments throughout 2013. May you have a blessed Christmas season with your family and friends.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

