For the busy person who wants to stay connected to God throughout the week!

Dear Sabbath Seekers,

On All Saints Eve and Day I like to spend time remembering and being grateful to my ancestors.  And I’m not talking just about the ones I knew. 

Many years ago I did a genealogy of my mother’s side of the family.  It was interesting to see the names and dates from over 200 years ago.  Many of the current names in our family were derivatives of older names and some names died off, thank you very much, with the person.  Imagining all the people who comprise my family and wondering about the details of their lives boggles my mind.  

How did they think, what did they do, who were their friends, why did they settle where they did, what made them laugh or cry, and what did they believe are all questions I ponder when I get in this All Saints Day reflective mode. 

And then, yesterday, I came across this quote and it made me think of my ancestors in a whole new way: 

“Suddenly, all of my ancestors are behind me. ‘Be still’ they say.  Watch and listen, you are the result of the love of thousands.” Unknown

Whoever they were and whatever they did I am the result of their love. 

As I thought about that I realized that I am part of another family – the family of God.  Many times I wonder about the details of the lives of some of the people in that family.  What did Mary think when she was carrying Jesus and watching him grow into a man of God?  What did Joseph think about the same things? 

But the same is true for my biblical ancestors as for my family’s, I am here today, who I am today and what I believe today because of the love of thousands.

And that love all began and will continue because of the love of God. 

God’s love gave me life, gave me ancestors, gave me a present and a future.  God’s love gave me a context and a content for my life  God’s love gave me a gift of life eternal.  And through it all I am part of a network of love that is unending.

Taking Sabbath moments allows me to pause and remember not only the source of love but all the love that has come before me that makes my life real and fully connected to something bigger than myself.

And that is something worth being still over and pondering. 

What do you think?

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.” Hebrews 12.1

Blessings,

Nancy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

