For the busy person who wants to stay connected to God throughout the week!

Dear Sabbath Seekers,

I am about to take an extended Sabbath moment to the mountains of New Mexico.  Well, to be exact it will be a week-long Sabbath!  And I can’t wait.

The last few months have been pretty much non stop as we sell our house and get ready to move.    Taking Sabbath moments when I could and when I was intentional certainly helped me to slow down and not get too caught up in the urgent details of the day-to-day and helped me appreciate the blessings of the busyness I was living and breathing.  However, I admit that too often that to do list brought  me back to work before I was ready.

The thought of a week to contemplate the beauty of creation in New Mexico is making me all tingly inside.  My Spirit is yearning for some contemplative down time.  

Do you ever reach that point where you crave time to just sit and be, to relax fully into the arms of nature and breathe in the beauty of God’s creation?  I feel sometimes as if I am estranged from the earth itself walking upon it but not realizing it is what we are made of too.

To be able to give my attention to the creator and the creation feels like a privilege I have to earn rather than a benefit of being alive.  How often do we put off taking time to just be in order to finish one more thing on our to do list?  Or the entire to do list???

I know my time in New Mexico will be a special blessing because the landscape is so breathtaking. It will be hard not to connect the creator and the creation.  As I write that sentence it occurs to me that I will be connecting one more thing – myself.  I will be taking time to connect myself to the creator and the creation in this time of immersion in Sabbath. We are in so many ways one. – whole-y one.   

And I also realize that I do not have to travel to New Mexico to experience the connection between God, God’s creation and myself as part of that creation.  Right here in my own backyard, I have beauty, creation and the blessings of the creator.  Time to stop seeing all of this as separate and viewing my surroundings as a context rather than content. 

This week I pray you will stop, breathe in the Spirit of God and be nurtured by the beauty all around you and be whole-y one.  And, yes, do this before you even attempt to finish that to do list. 

IMG_1261

“I lift my eyes to the hills – where does my help come from?  My help comes from the Lord the Maker of heaven and earth. ” Psalm 121.1-2

Talk with you in two weeks!

Blessings,

Nancy

Comments on: "Sabbath Moments and The Mountains" (4)

  1. I hope your time away is blessed, Nancy! I enjoyed your reflection. Thank you.

  2. Nob Ichishita said:

    Enjoy your time in New Mexico. You deserve it!!!!!

    • Thanks, Nob. We will. When we get back Chuck is having back surgery. 10/7 at Strong he is having his vertibrae line back up so they aren’t pressing on his sciatic nerve. It’s been a tough few months for him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

